Reblogged – Grimm Tales

Serious nightmares… :-/ hmmm…  This gets me thinking about these tales (again!), you know.  They’ve got something serious to say.  They’re not just for kids.  What’s your reaction?

PS – my review of Pullman’s collection is still on its way…  🙂

Noon Observations

So, Philip Pullman has just come out with a new edition of Grimms’ Fairy Tales. I am intrigued!

I’m sure you already know that the Disney versions of these fairy tales are extremely sanitized. The originals were truly, y’know, grim. If you didn’t already know that, you might want to check out this article from Flavorwire, “The Disturbing Origins of 10 Famous Fairy Tales,” which includes a few of the original endings and illustrations. Possibly the worst thing on there is that the original Sleeping Beauty didn’t just prick her finger. No, she had a sliver go up her fingernail. Ewwwwwwwww!!!!!

I grew up with a grim version of the Brothers Grimm. My father, a native German speaker who was raised on these, gave me The Complete Grimm’s Fairy Tales when I was still in elementary school. This is the great big book that includes “folkloristic commentary”…

View original post 36 more words

One thought on “Reblogged – Grimm Tales

  1. Thanks so much for stopping by my blog. I’m flattered to be reblogged. 🙂

    Yes, fairy tales are definitely not just for kids. I still find them thrilling & chilling. I read tons of fairy tales when I was young, not just this book but several other editions as well. They are such a part of me. I wonder how this compares with kids today growing up with Harry Potter.

Leave a Reply

