Samhain – All Change!

Wow.  I’ve never really understood why the ancient Celts celebrated their New Year at this time.  To me, it seems we’re still heading into the deepest darkness of the outgoing year.

But, wow.  This is certainly turning out to be a time of huge transition for me.  It’s been an emotional roller-coaster, and a time of deep, deep searching and questioning.  What do I believe?  Where do I fit in?  How can I express myself in the right ways?

I’m not sure if I’ve come to the end of that process yet, but a turning point has definitely been turned.  And if you’re reading this, you’re witnessing that change.

As I’ve hinted at in recent posts, I’ve been experiencing a conversion to Christianity.  It’s been both subtle and cataclysmic.  It’s changed everything: gradually, intensely, eternally.

I see differently, feel differently, believe differently, behave differently.  I eat differently, dress differently, understand differently, speak differently.  Christians will talk to you about being Reborn.  “Truly, truly I say to you, unless one is born again he cannot see the kingdom of God.”  Jesus, John 3:3.

But before that can happen, we have to go through an experience of death.  Letting go of all the things we held on to in the past.  “If anyone would come after me, let him deny himself and take up his cross and follow me.  For whoever would save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for my sake will find it.”  Jesus, Matthew 16:24-25.

So, though all the muddy turbulence of my life, I’m learning to let go and follow God.  I’m also learning how to be myself in a new and richer way.  Although everything’s changed, I’m also still the same me – and it’s navigating this paradox that’s so challenging and so profoundly rewarding.

All of this could not be possible without:

1) God’s grace

2) Jesus’ loving sacrifice

3) The power of the Holy Spirit

4) the support of All Souls church, Eastbourne

5) the love and understanding of all my friends and family.

Thank you. x

And what does that mean for you, dear follower?  Well, you’ll probably notice a shift in my perceptions and subject matter.  But stick around.  You’ll still find some great stories filled with magic and mystery, as together we gaze into the heart of the greatest mystery of all time…

Look out for the first new post tomorrow!

🙂

Leave a Reply

