Advent – JOY

20131215-133656.jpg

Some things in life are just rubbish. Seriously, I don’t know what’s happened to me lately, but at the moment I’ve got a face that looks like it’s lost a fight with the Jabberwock (the jaws that bite, the claws that catch…) and a body that feels like it too. I’m carrying the weary resignation of someone who’s tried everything, and it hasn’t worked.

But that’s ok. Now I know where my joy’s coming from. Now I know that nothing in this world, no solution I could conjure up by myself, is the answer to all my problems. Now I know for sure that Jesus is my joy; Christ IS the answer to my prayers.

And I trust in his coming. God fulfils His promises.

When Jesus came, it was to sow the seed of love in every heart, to open up the door to Eternal Life with his blood.

When Christ comes again, it will be to gather in the harvest and lead us into the New Creation. A new Golden Age – culturally, creatively, spiritually. ‘His kingdom will never end. … Nothing is impossible with God.’ (Luke 1:33 and 37)

That’s the joy of advent: the promise of what’s to come.

These are the darkest of days. We celebrate Christmas in December because of the implicit link between Jesus’ birth and the ancient solar mythologies. Our ancestors recognised that even in the darkest times there’s the promise of light to come. However dark and cold and dead our world may seem, we know that just beyond our vision light and life are preparing to be reborn.

The winter solstice marks a three-day still-point in the yearly cycle: a magical time when great change is being brewed. From the darkness and death, fresh hope rises on the third day with the sun.

‘The heavens declare the glory of God
and the sky proclaims the work of His hands.’ Psalm 19.

‘Life was in Him, and that life was the light of men.
The light shines in the darkness, yet the darkness did not overcome it.’ John 1:4-5

Christ is the living light that’s promised to us in our darkness.

Advent joy is knowing the Light will come.

‘Blessed is she who has believed that what the Lord has said to her will be accomplished!’ Luke 1:45

Leave a Reply

