Starting is the half-part. Doing:being is all the rest.

This year, I intend to share more of my private writing and make it public.  I’ll be publishing more of my poetry, stories, essays and notes in response to my PhD research on utopian theory and the work of Theresa Hak Kyung Cha.  Writer Bhanu Kapil, who I admire greatly, suggested that I live-blog my PhD and this is something I intend to start doing.

There’s something else too.  Breaking free of ego-centric syntax that puts the subject-self at the centre of the grammatical universe.  It’s something I’ve started to experiment with a bit through my poetry (for example, Undone Tongue, beforesilencewordbeforesilencesilence, Oceans of Being), but I’d like to try it in my prose too.  It feels a bit daunting.  And probably a little Yoda-like.  And I’ve really no idea how to start.

Starting is the half-part though.  Doing:being is all the rest.

Its purposefulness is the reminding that we are co-existent co-creators in a co-created world.  The centre is not I.  Yet the centre-being is every I and no I.  Joseph Campbell attributed to mythology/quoted Voltaire quoted Timaeus of Locri quoted by Plato and also Pascal: ‘God is a circle whose centre is everywhere and whose circumference is nowhere’.  Ernst Bloch and Theresa Hak Kyung Cha both explore the relationship between subject and object, and the vibration at the threshold of their being.  So journey on together with us in our explorations on the blog.

Well, there.  Now that I’ve given it a go, I’m not entirely sure it’ll catch on.  It seems a bit too pretentious to me.  And I’m sure there are better ways.  But let’s see how things evolve over time.  The whole concept needs much more working through and will unfold gradually.

The point is I’m going to be experimenting with my language, not just in poetry, but in the prose and the blog posts too.  We’ll see how that one goes…  And please feel free to comment on how it’s working for you.

Over the next few posts, I’ll be sharing with you some of my favourite unpublished pieces of 2015, as well as live-blogging my PhD research and publishing new works in response to my reading.  Some lovely bloggers have recently asked me for reading recommendations on utopian literature and poetry, so I’m hoping to put together a list of good reads and post that soon too.

Happy reading! 🙂

Oceans of Being

                                        of despair

light     universal

colour every ocean
open ocean

reflected light

transfixed     shape

beings reflected

bursts despair

borders

smiles
transfixed in        colour       shape

and light

universal      beings
no borders

smiles despair

reflected in heart
bursts colour

bursts light
corespondance        beings

light of       universal

colour
every ocean

momentarily transfixed

2 thoughts on “Starting is the half-part. Doing:being is all the rest.

Leave a Reply

